The short version: On October 26, 2026, GXO Logistics and Agility Robotics announced an expanded agreement to deploy Digit humanoid robots at two additional U.S. e-commerce fulfillment sites—in Statesville, North Carolina and Lebanon, Tennessee—starting in early 2027. The joint release also puts GXO's own name behind the milestone of more than 100,000 totes moved at its original Flowery Branch, Georgia facility. A repeat commitment from an existing commercial customer is a genuine signal in a market crowded with single-site pilots. At the same time, no robots are operating in Statesville or Lebanon today, neither company disclosed fleet size or contract pricing, and the new sites will start on Digit 4 before migrating to Digit 5 when it becomes commercially available. In TheMimic's Deployment Ledger, Flowery Branch remains `deployed` (`customer-confirmed`), while the Statesville and Lebanon expansion enters as `contracted` (`partner-confirmed`).
Most warehouse humanoid deals stop after a single-site pilot. Tracking real deployment means separating a first trial from a repeat commercial contract, and separating a signed expansion from robots already running shifts on the floor.
The October 26, 2026 announcement published on both GXO's newsroom and Agility Robotics' site gives buyers and analysts new primary-source evidence on both counts. Cross-referencing that release with Agility's SEC Rule 424(b)(3) prospectus (declared effective on October 13, 2026 ahead of the November 2, 2026 Churchill Capital Corp XI shareholder vote) clarifies exactly what has been proven in commercial logistics and what still sits in the future tense.
What GXO and Agility announced on October 26, 2026
The timeline between GXO Logistics (NYSE: GXO) and Agility Robotics spans three distinct phases:
1. Late 2023 proof-of-concept pilot: GXO and Agility began testing Digit at GXO's Flowery Branch, Georgia site.
2. June 2024 commercial RaaS agreement: The companies signed a multi-year Robots-as-a-Service (RaaS) agreement at the Flowery Branch facility (operating for SPANX), where Digit works alongside existing automation to move totes from cobots and place them onto conveyors, managed through Agility's cloud platform, Agility Arc.
3. October 2026 multi-site expansion agreement: Under the expanded agreement announced on October 26, 2026, Digit will support e-commerce fulfillment at GXO's sites in Statesville, North Carolina and Lebanon, Tennessee, taking on repetitive material-handling tasks. Deployments at the two new sites are scheduled to begin in early 2027 using Digit 4 and migrate to Digit 5 when it becomes commercially available.
Two evidentiary details in the October 26 release matter immediately for the 115-profile Robot Reality Index and the Deployment Ledger:
First, GXO CEO Patrick Kelleher is quoted directly on the record in the release published on GXO's own domain:
> "Our partnership with Agility Robotics has been defined by a shared commitment to turning emerging technologies into real-world operational advantage. Together, we've helped pioneer the use of humanoid robotics in the warehouse and this expansion reflects our confidence in the technology's ability to create measurable value for our customers and a better working environment for our teams."
Second, the joint announcement states on both GXO's and Agility's sites:
> "Since then, Digit has moved more than 100,000 totes at the Flowery Branch facility, demonstrating its ability to perform repetitive material-handling tasks reliably in an active logistics environment."
When Agility unveiled Digit 5 on September 15, 2026, the 100,000-tote figure at Flowery Branch appeared in an Agility vendor release alongside a claim of approximately 98% on-task accuracy. Because TheMimic does not upgrade vendor-only operational metrics to customer confirmation without the customer's own publication, our ledger previously labeled the 100,000-tote milestone on `digit-gxo-spanx-2024` as vendor-stated. With GXO now publishing the "more than 100,000 totes at the Flowery Branch facility" statement on `gxo.com` in a joint release quoting its CEO, that throughput milestone is now customer-backed. (Agility's separate 98% on-task accuracy figure from September 15 was not repeated in the October 26 joint release, so it remains labeled vendor-stated in our notes.)
Applying TheMimic's three questions
Every record on TheMimic is evaluated against three questions outlined in our evidence methodology: Does it exist? Can you get it? Has a customer used it? Applying those questions to the GXO expansion shows why generation splits and stage labels matter.
| Question | Flowery Branch, GA (`digit-gxo-spanx-2024`) | Statesville, NC & Lebanon, TN (`digit-gxo-expansion-2026`) |
|---|---|---|
| 1. Does it exist? | Yes — Digit (Digit 4) is an in-service bipedal logistics robot with more than 65,000 company-reported operating hours across all customer programs. | Initial early-2027 hardware is Digit 4 (`deployed` product status). Planned migration hardware is Digit 5, unveiled September 15, 2026 (`prototype` status; early access targeted H1 2027, general availability late 2027). |
| 2. Can you get it? | Commercial RaaS contracts are negotiated with enterprise customers; no public list price. | Contracted under an expanded commercial agreement between GXO and Agility; fleet size and financial terms are not disclosed. |
| 3. Has a customer used it? | Yes (`deployed`, `customer-confirmed`). Operational since June 2024 under a multi-year RaaS contract; GXO and Agility confirm 100,000+ totes moved. | Not yet (`contracted`, `partner-confirmed`). Deployments are expected to begin in early 2027. |
Why Statesville and Lebanon are recorded as `contracted`, not `deployed`
A customer signing an agreement to put robots into two named warehouses in early 2027 is stronger evidence than a memorandum of understanding or a lab trial. That is why TheMimic separates `contracted` from `announced`, `evaluation`, and `pilot`.
However, a contract for future delivery is not an active floor deployment. In the October 26 release, both companies explicitly list "the anticipated deployment of Digit at GXO's Statesville and Lebanon sites beginning in early 2027 and the expected migration of those deployments to Digit 5 when it becomes commercially available" under forward-looking statements. Recording Statesville and Lebanon as `deployed` today would inflate the count of warehouses where humanoid robots are actually running shifts.
Keeping Flowery Branch at `deployed` (`customer-confirmed`) and logging Statesville and Lebanon as `contracted` (`partner-confirmed`) captures both facts: GXO is the first commercial warehouse customer to expand humanoid deployments from one site to three, and only one of those three sites is running today.
What the hardware transition from Digit 4 to Digit 5 tells us
One of the most informative details in the announcement is the hardware bridge:
> "Under the expanded agreement, Digit will support e-commerce fulfillment at GXO's Statesville and Lebanon sites, taking on highly repetitive material-handling tasks. Deployments are expected to begin in early 2027 using Digit 4 and will migrate to Digit 5 when it becomes commercially available."
Why start two new sites in early 2027 on Digit 4 if Digit 5 was unveiled in September 2026?
1. Digit 4 is the proven, available machine for early 2027. In Agility's September 15, 2026 Digit 5 announcement, the company stated that Digit 5 early access is expected in the first half of 2027, with general availability by the end of 2027. Starting Statesville and Lebanon on Digit 4 allows GXO to stand up Agility Arc integration, conveyor handoffs, and e-commerce fulfillment workflows in early 2027 without waiting for Digit 5 general availability.
2. Digit 5 targets a different safety and payload envelope. Agility specs Digit 4 at 5 ft 9 in tall, 140 lb weight, a 35 lb payload capacity, and up to four hours of battery runtime. Digit 5 is larger and heavier—company-stated at 5 ft 11 in (1.81 m), 284 lb (129 kg), a 50 lb (22.7 kg) payload, and a 90-minute runtime paired with a 9-minute recharge cycle—and is specifically designed for "cooperatively safe work in close proximity to people."
3. Generation discipline prevents capability conflation. Because the early-2027 rollout uses Digit 4, TheMimic attaches `digit-gxo-expansion-2026` to Digit rather than Digit 5. Until Digit 5 units are delivered and confirmed operating at a customer facility, Digit 5 remains a `prototype` in our index.
Reading the expansion alongside Agility's SEC Form S-4 disclosures
Because Agility Robotics is in the process of going public via its business combination with Churchill Capital Corp XI (Nasdaq: CCXI), we do not have to guess at the broader financial context around its commercial contracts. The Form S-4 Amendment No. 1 (filed September 30, 2026) and the definitive Rule 424(b)(3) prospectus (filed October 13, 2026, after the SEC declared the registration statement effective) provide audited and company-reported figures that ground the GXO announcement:
- Facility count and operating hours: Both the prospectus and the October 26 release state that Digit has accumulated more than 65,000 hours of real-world operation. In the S-4 section Information About Agility, Agility reports that Digit v4 is "deployed or committed for deployment across nine customer facilities," naming Schaeffler, GXO, Toyota Motor Manufacturing Canada, and Mercado Libre. (Separate from those four, AGCO announced a contracted 2027 pilot at its Hesston, Kansas facility on October 20, 2026.)
- Early commercial revenue: In the statements of operations in the prospectus, Agility reports total net sales of $174,362 for the six months ended June 30, 2026 ($174 thousand in the MD&A summary table). That number puts the rollout in perspective: Digit has an active commercial contract and more than 100,000 totes moved at GXO, yet recognized revenue across all of Agility in the first half of 2026 was still under $200,000.
- Illustrative Digit 5 unit economics: Neither GXO nor Agility disclosed what GXO is paying for Statesville and Lebanon. In the Digit 5 Unit Economics section of the prospectus, Agility provides illustrative model assumptions (explicitly noting that actual long-term contract terms are subject to negotiation): under the RaaS model, a recurring monthly fee of $8,500 per deployed robot (including software and maintenance) plus a one-time deployment fee of approximately $25,000 per robot; under the Ownership model, an upfront hardware price of approximately $200,000 per robot, a one-time deployment fee of approximately $20,000, and an annual Arc software and maintenance subscription of approximately $36,000 per year per robot.
- Committed Digit 5 backlog vs. current deployment: The prospectus also discloses $300 million of committed multi-year orders as of May 2026 for 1,000 Digit 5 robots under a three-year RaaS contract (subject to contractual milestones, product features, and specifications, with warrants vesting as robots are deployed to an unnamed related-party customer). As footnote (1) of the filing notes, those committed orders are not current-period revenue—and they are not an active deployed fleet.
What remains undisclosed
What the October 26, 2026 GXO–Agility announcement does not disclose:
1. Fleet size at Flowery Branch, Statesville, or Lebanon: Neither company states how many Digit robots are currently running at Flowery Branch or how many units will be deployed in Statesville and Lebanon in early 2027. Moving 100,000 totes over more than two years of operation is a meaningful reliability milestone, but without unit counts, shift schedules, or totes-per-hour per robot, outsiders cannot calculate hourly throughput per machine.
2. Contract value and unit economics at GXO: The release confirms an expanded RaaS partnership, but does not disclose monthly fees, minimum volume commitments, or whether the migration from Digit 4 to Digit 5 changes the subscription rate.
3. Exact go-live dates and Digit 5 cutover criteria: "Early 2027" for Digit 4 and "when it becomes commercially available" for Digit 5 are target windows, not verified start dates.
Verdict: how the ledger updates today
With the addition of `digit-gxo-expansion-2026`, TheMimic's Deployment Ledger now tracks 17 deployment records across 10 robots in the 115-profile Robot Reality Index:
- 1 active deployed: Digit at GXO Logistics in Flowery Branch, Georgia (`customer-confirmed`, now updated with GXO's joint confirmation of 100,000+ totes moved).
- 3 active pilots: Figure 03 at BMW Group Plant Spartanburg (`customer-confirmed`), AEON at BMW Group Plant Leipzig (`customer-confirmed`), and Apollo 2 at Apptronik's Austin Robot Park (`vendor-confirmed`).
- 3 active evaluations: Apollo at Mercedes-Benz in Berlin (`customer-confirmed`), Apollo at GXO (`customer-confirmed`), and Electric Atlas at Hyundai's RMAC facility in Georgia (`vendor-confirmed`).
- 8 announced or contracted commitments (7 `contracted`, 1 `announced`): Including four contracted Digit records (Toyota Motor Manufacturing Canada, Mercado Libre in San Antonio, AGCO in Hesston, and the new GXO expansion to Statesville and Lebanon), plus contracted records for HMND 01 at Schaeffler and Calvin-40 at Renault and SAPA, and Phoenix announced with Magna.
- 2 completed deployments/POCs: Figure 02 at BMW Spartanburg (`customer-confirmed`) and HMND 01 at Bosch in Bühl (`partner-confirmed`).
For anyone tracking the humanoid robot companies competing for logistics work, GXO's decision to expand Digit from Georgia to North Carolina and Tennessee is the clearest customer retention signal in the sector so far. When Digit 4 robots are confirmed operating on the floor in Statesville and Lebanon in 2027, that record will move from `contracted` to `deployed`. Until then, the distinction stays intact.
Published by TheMimic. Robot profiles and deployment records are maintained separately from editorial analysis.